A Lull

I’ve been so crazy busy for the past week and a half, today seemed kind of boring!  It’s not that there wasn’t anything to do, the gym, catch up at the weight watchers meeting, doctors appointment…all mundane things no one else, (except maybe my Steve who shows interest in everything I do), would want to hear about!

Anyway, it is nice to be home.  Last night, I cooked up some haddock, nothing fancy, no recipe (dipped in milk, then in panko seasoned with italian seasoning and a little shredded parm, drizzed with a little melted butter and olive oil), just yummy home cooked food. After 8 days or so of nothing but restaurant food, a simple salad and baked haddock was a treat!  Tonight,we had a tasty  chicken with wine sauce with a side green beans and almonds (can’t call it almondine, I’m not going to add any oil or butter).  If you’re counting points plus, you can add 7 to your daily total with this recipe.  I added a tossed salad, drizzled with balsamic vinegar (no points).  For dessert, I used up some fruit I had on hand and made a tropical fruit salad.  Sounds Great, don’t ya think?  Here are the recipes:

Sautéed Chicken Thighs with Wine Sauce

Serves 4    7 Points Plus per serving

1 tsp olive oil

1/4 cup flour

1/4 tsp black pepper

8 skinless chicken thighs

3/4  cup chicken broth

1/4 cup white wine

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbs lemon juice

1  1/2 Tbs capers (I rinse mine to reduce the sodium)

3 cups string beans steamed with 2 Tbs slivered almonds

  • Coat non stick skillet with olive oil; set over medium-high heat.
  • In a small bowl, combine flour with pepper; sprinkle over chicken. Brown chicken in a single layer in prepared skillet until golden on bottom,  for about 6 minutes. Turn and brown other side, about 4 minutes more. Remove chicken from skillet; set aside and keep warm.
  • Pour broth and wine into skillet and scrape up any browned bits with a wooden spoon. Return chicken to skillet, cover and reduce heat to low; simmer until heated through, about 3 minutes. Stir in lemon juice and capers; heat for 30 seconds. Drizzle approximately 1 1/2 Tbs sauce over chicken and steamed string beans.

Tropical fruit salad

4 Servings, 4 Points Plus per serving

1 Cantelope, cut into 1 inch cubes

2 cups strawberries, hulled and quartered

1 can of Pineapple chunks in juice, drained

1/4 cup sweetened coconut flakes

Toss ingredients together in a large bowl.  Serve cold.  If you like, you can add 2 Tbs of Cool Whip, just be sure to add 2 points!

Bon Appétit

“K”

2 thoughts on “A Lull

  1. I would love to find out more about your successful implant adventure! I have been contemplating Costa Rica for over 2 years now and just need to do it. I have been following your blog for awhile and subscribed recently. I think you have given me the courage I so needed to proceed(: Welcome home!

    • I am more than happy to share my story and to say, ‘just do it’! If you google dental or medical tourism, you’ll find you are most definitely not alone! I tend to think that’s not going to change, if anything, I think the numbers are going to multiply dramatically! Feel free to email me!

Leave a Reply

