What’s cooking in my garage…

I’ve been an avid recycler, separating the glass, plastics and paper and totally participating in my local recycling program.  Most of my friends also know how much I love perusing thru consignment and thrift shops, although usually for tchotchke of some sort, something I can repurpose or something for my overflowing clothes closet. Well, my projects had a recent leap in size, as I have caught the furniture ‘bug’. So much for getting my car in the garage this summer!

It all started with a small student desk dear Steve had, that was literally gathering dust at his condo.  Needing a make up table and really wanting to do my make up in daylight, I thought, wouldn’t this be perfect in the dormer window of my bedroom.  So, I started reading up on how to refinish furniture and decided it was time to tackle my first painting project. Here are the results:

Student desk ready to be primed.

Dormer Make up Table

Since I was painting and not staining,  I filled in some gouges with wood putty and gave the table a quick once over with my orbital sander, just to rough things up a bit.  Next, I brushed on 2 coats of Zinsser water based primer, followed by 2 coats of Behr Paint with primer in an awesome grey/white and finished with 2 coats of Minwax Polycrylic.  The original knobs weren’t anything special, just plain wood knobs that came alive with a hammered copper spray paint finish! Finally, a quick trip to home depot and I had a sheet of Acrylic to protect the white top from make up drips, etc.  I just love my new window make up table, it’s the perfect addition to an awkward bedroom dormer space!

My next project was restoring a pair of night stands I picked up for $15 (total cost, not each) off of Craigslist.  They were in pretty good condition, but too dark for my bedroom, especially with the white make up vanity table.

So, using the same paint and steps as in the make up table, giving the hardware a good cleaning, using paint I already had on hand, my total cost for the 2 tables comes to around $20 here’s the before and after of the new night stands:

So, that’s what I’ve been up to since returning from the West Coast.  The garage keeps accumulating larger and larger pieces, next up, I’ll be refinishing a dresser set for my daughter Molly. Stay tuned for pictures and details!

Oh, one more thing…our city changed its recycling system recently, going from the typical rectangle plastic tubs to these large rolling bins..So, I recycled the tubs!  Here ya go!  The big blue bin is our new city recycling bin, the old bins are now the perfect container gardens.  I’ve got tomatoes, cilantro, green peppers and cucumbers started. Can’t wait for our late summer salsa and salad!

Cheers!

Karen

‘Recycled’ recycling containers, a container garden

Leave a Reply

