So glad I didn’t have to ‘gift’ this

I’m so excited about my latest project! I’ve been feeding birds this year and have a beautiful array of some mighty fine and wonderfully colorful feathered friends, only thing is, it’s been so hot, I felt I needed to have a birdbath.  So, I went out shopping only to find that concrete  bird baths were really expensive and frankly, not all that attractive.  Enter the Internets!

After a bit of sleuthing, I found multiple sites showing bird baths created out of re-purposed lamps!

Woohoo!  So, off I went to my favorite thrift store to find that one of a kind lamp that would make a great and quirky conversation piece in my garden and I found the perfect butt ugly lamp!

I’m sure you’ll agree, this is a gem of a lamp, eh?  Heavy, ceramic and, well….hideous!

Butt Ugly Lamp

But wait, there’s more to the story.  I’m walking around my favorite thrift shop with this lamp that’s close to 36 inches tall tucked under my arm and a lady walks up to me and says “Do I know you?”  To which I answer, “No, I don’t think so”.  She responds, “Good, then I don’t have to worry about you gifting me that butt ugly lamp”  Seriously!  I told her what I planned to do with it and now maybe she might rethink that!  🙂

Anyway, after removing the electric cord (which by the way, was repaired in multiple places with electrical tape), having my neighbor Tom cut off the steel rod that went up thru the top, some gorilla glue to top it off with a heavy ceramic bowl (another days thrift shop find), a rock so my feathered friends won’t drown and here ya go….

My new, quirky bird bath!  I think the birds will love it, don’t you?

Quirky Bird Bath

Leave a Reply

