March Foodie Penpal, the Great Reveal!

Hmmm, not sure what happened, but meant to publish this on April 1st and even scheduled it, sigh…

This is the date that Foodies and Bloggers reveal their Foodie Penpal box!  Once a month, participants send boxes off to someone assigned to them and receive boxes from someone else. I sent my box off to April, a just turned 21 year old newly wed in Arizona. My daughter just turned 21 as well, so I was inspired to send April some of my daughters favorite foods (and drink, lol)!

This was my second month participating and woohoo, was I excited when my box arrived from Jaliza (Ja), of the blog Athlete Within Ja.  Ja is studying for her medical boards and is an avid runner, originally from the Philippines, so  I knew I was in for a taste of ethnic and healthy foods to boot and Ja didn’t disappoint!  She shared with me favorites from her homeland.

So, without further ado, here’s my box of Filipino goodies!  P1020877

The gold is a 4 page handwritten letter detailing each item, it’s significance to Ja’s life and how I can use or enjoy it!  Page 4 was a recipe for Miki (Chicken Noodle Soup) and Ja included the noodles!  Here’s a pic of the Miki Soup I was able to create! It was tasty, but a bit salty for my tastes, but admittedly, I improvised quite a bit on the recipe (leftover cooked chicken and low sodium chicken broth instead of boiling the chicken and using that liquid). So, I will have to try this recipe another time.  Flavor was great though!

P1020902

Also included, an interesting combo, Ja included an issue of Shape Magazine. She said it was her favorite magazine and had lots of great recipes (You’re right Ja, I’m enjoying it), however, hmmm…Shape magazine and Filipino candy?  The candy was the first thing we tried!  One candy was Choc-Nut and it tasted alot like Halva, a Jewish treat. The other was a powdered milk candy, kinda tasted like malted milk.

P1020882

Nana Rosa’s Chichacorn was a yummy fried corn kernel snack, great with our pre dinner cocktails!

P1020886

Ja included a few other spices, some mango nectar that was absolutely delicious, and some Filipino ramen type noodles.

All in all, an exciting box of goodies for an adventurous foodie like me to receive!  Thanks so much Ja and Thanks to Lindsay of theLeangreenbean for starting the Foodie Penpal group, what fun!  You can bet I’m going to keep doing the swap, I love foodie adventures and this adventure adds mystery, so it’s all good!

Cheers!

Karen

Interested in being a foodie penpal?

If you’re from the US or Canada and are interested participating pleaseCLICK HERE  to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions. 

You must submit your information by  the 4th of the month, as pairings will be emailed on 5th!

*If you’re from Europe, please CLICK HERE to signup.

The Lean Green Bean

2 thoughts on “March Foodie Penpal, the Great Reveal!

  1. Hi, I did a little blog renovation so I just read your post! 🙂 Nice to know your thoughts about them. Glad you love your goodies! 🙂
    I had fun picking them for you! It was great meeting you 🙂

  2. Pingback: April (and March) Foodie Penpal Reveal Day | Ja on the RUN

Leave a Reply

