April Foodie Penpal Reveal

Today’s the day of the big Foodie Pen Pal Reveal! If you’ve read my blog before, you’ll know that once a month, I participate in a Foodie Penpal group, where I send off a box of food goodies to someone and I receive a box of food goodies from someone else. Earlier this month, I shipped a box of handpicked goodies off to Renee’ in Alton, Illinois. I worked hard to surprise Renee, and I think I succeeded!

This month my goodie box was from Casey in Pennsylvania. Casey is the brilliance behind the blog Salted Plates. When I visited Casey’s blog, I knew I would be in for a treat! Casey is a vegetarian (who sometimes cooks meat), but more importantly, she writes about great food and posts great recipes!  I became an immediate fan!  Anyway, Casey put together an awesome Foodie box for me! Here ya go!  The only thing not pictured is the chocolate bar, which I stuffed away so quickly that ONLY I would know where it was!  Seriously though, It was wrapped so nicely in tissue paper, I almost missed it….I retrieved the box and found the chocolate bar after this pic was taken.

P1030098 - Copy

Casey’s package couldn’t have arrived at a better time.  All day I had been working in the garage hanging my super Craiglist cabinets, not even thinking about dinner.  When the package arrived it was like magic, I had a dinner idea and it didn’t involve eggs!  Yay!

Casey sent some Pomodoro sauce from Greensgrow Farms, local to Lancaster PA.  I’m not kidding at all if I say that it tasted like I just picked the tomatoes and made sauce today!  Extra nice on top of the whole wheat ravioli my daughter and I had found last week and had tucked away in the freezer.  That, some steamed broccoli, a salad and freshly grated romano cheese and dinner was on the table in 20 minutes!  Woohoo!

P1030104

The next extra special treat Casey sent was a (Huge) jar of homemade Jersey Blueberry Jam!  I’ve never canned anything, so getting something home made and canned is a real treat to me!  Loved it! Yumm! P1030103

The next goodie was a package of Farro, Casey said it was new to her and ironically, I had just discovered Farro myself. Casey’s farrow was different though, it only needed 18 minutes to cook. If you haven’t tried Farro, you’re in for a treat.  It’s whole grain goodness, a little crunchy, and definitely delicious!

P1030099

The curry sauce, can’t wait to try!.  I LOVE Curry…omg, the beautiful mixture of spicy and sweet, that’s what curry is to me!  I don’t usually get packaged mixes, so it’s fun to have one to try! I noticed it doesn’t have msg in it, thank you…..

P1030101

I LOVE my goodies, thank you so much!  I’m doing a happy dance!  🙂

So  thank you to Casey of the blog Salted Plates for putting together a box any foodie would love. Be sure to check out her blog for some fantastic veggie ideas (love her pizza recipes)!   Also need to shout out a huge thank you to Lindsay of theLeangreenbean for starting the Foodie Penpal group, what fun!  I love foodie adventures, love surprise packages and this adventure adds mystery, so it’s all good!

Cheers!

Karen

Interested in being a foodie penpal?

If you’re from the US or Canada and are interested participating pleaseCLICK HERE  to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions. 

You must submit your information by  the 4th of the month, as pairings will be emailed on 5th!

*If you’re from Europe, please CLICK HERE to signup.

The Lean Green Bean

Leave a comment